top of page
Search

Bathtime Beware

Alright so this one is going to be a little less on an activity or kid learning, focusing on something I did not initially think of being an issue. My son was taking a bath and using some rubber squirt toys, you know different types of animals, boats, etc that have a hole in them. Sure they are fun to squeeze out the air bubbles to fill up with water. Then squirt the water out hopefully not making a big watery mess. We have had some for a long time with no real issue but bath time does not happen as often as my kids are getting older and being home more. That may have added to the issue of these toys building up what I am guessing is a mold caused by the water and soap. He went to squirt one and a stream of blackish green particles came spewing out. Some were bigger than others but either way a bit gross and not good. The picture used for this blog is and actual photo I took of the stuff squirted out of the two toys pictured. I proceeded to grab all the squirt toys moving them over to the sink to get cleaned. This is not a very hard process but does take some time and minimal materials. Below I will list out a short list of best way I found but it was short journey to figure it out. Now of course easy thing would be to google but I took the harder route of thinking it out. I did an initial clean out using only hot water but figured this would not fully clear out the mold. Next thought was bleach though may not be the best on the toys or working with safely around kids. Quick look around I have vinegar and some essential oils like Thieves and Tea Tree. My assumption is majority of people have a vinegar or easier access to it, so ended up going with that. Added some to the hot water, filled the toys, and soaked a bit. Then squirted out the water mix out, refilled, shock the toy around, and repeated several times until nothing more was coming out. Took about 2 minutes per toy for this process and I used two sinks to help prevent sucking back up the mold.


My recommendation for cleaning.

  1. Tub or sink of hot water

  2. Mix in small amount of vinegar, about half cup per gallon

  3. Fill the toys with the solution

  4. Soak for at least 30 minutes

  5. Clean and rinse throughly

Thank you for your time to read this post and hope it helps you level up your parent game.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page