top of page
Search

Check on family and friends

This year has been a tough one for many, I went back and forth a little about writing this blog because it is not up beat or happy but can be an important reminder.


This month a friends husband took his life after struggling with depression and getting treatment. It has brought me down a bit harder as it was done on his adopted kid's birthday. He did do it somewhat away from them so they never saw what happened but it was still at their home. I am trying not to put more detail than is needed to get the idea out. Personally I did not talk to these friends in a while due to busy lives and current state of pandemic has kept me busy. Granted I doubt a simple check in by me would have changed any outcome but it still causes pause for thought and the creeping what if.


My main point is that even if your friends / family seem like they are doing ok or in treatment for depression and alike please take a few minutes to reach out to them. Even if it does not make the difference at least you know you did. Knowing you are not alone or that it may not be your fault helps those in hard situations. In this case he was getting treatment but still succumbed to negative thoughts.


National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

Hours: Available 24 hours. Languages: English, Spanish. Learn more

800-273-8255


Thank you for taking the time to read this short thought, I hope it can reach at least one person in need or encourage you to reach out.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page